22 Dec 2007

New Solomon Islands prime minister names his government line up

11:55 am on 22 December 2007

The new Solomon Islands Prime Minister, Dr Derek Sikua has named his new Cabinet line up.

Fred Fono is Deputy Prime Minister and the Rural Development Minister.

The Minister of Finance is Snyder Rini.

Toswell Kaua is the Minister of Justice.

Stanley Sofu takes the Infrastructure role, with National Planning going to Steve Abana and Lands to Martin Maga.

Johnson Koli takes the Health Portfolio.

Samuel Manitoali is the Minister of Police.

The Minister of Education is Job Duddley Tausiga.

Selwyn Riumana is the Minister of Agriculture

The Minister of the Public Service is Milner Tozaka.

Seth Gukuna is the Minister of Tourism, while Aviation Minister is Varian Longoamei.

Another ten will be sworn in today.