6 Nov 2007

New Oceania Davis Cup captain named

11:21 am on 6 November 2007

The president of the Vanuatu Tennis Federation Cyrille Mainguy has been appointed captain of the Oceania Davis Cup team for the 2008/2009 season.

Mainguy takes over from Jeff Race of the Northern Marianas who captained the team for six years taking them from group four to group two where they've remained for the past three years.

Other selections include Perelini Perelini from American Samoa and Oceania Tennis Federation's Patrick O'Rourke.

Oceania's first match will be an away game against second seeds Kuwait in February with a second round tie against either Oman or New Zealand in April.