3 Jan 2007

French Polynesia include three outer island members of local legislative

11:11 am on 3 January 2007

The newly elected President of French Polynesia, Gaston Tong Sang has announced a 15 member cabinet, which includes portfolios for three outer island members of the legislative assembly.

The return of Tahoeraa Huiraatira, ended Oscar Temaru's term of office just 21 months after he was elected at the helm of a pro-independence coalition.

Elma MaUa reports.

"Louis Frebault, Michel Yip and Temauri Foster, who crossed the floor to oust Mr Temaru, have been given significant portfolios, with Mr Foster appointed Vice-President. Mr Frebault picks up Public Works, Ports and Airports, while Mr Yip's potfolios include Black pearl Farming Industries. All threee also hel portfolios under the ousted Temaru administration. Orher political parties in the new government which forms the new pro autonomy majority include Ai'a Api and Rautahi. Most of the other cabinet members belong to Mr Tong Sang's party, the Tahoeraa Huiraatira which has governed French Polynesia for the past twenty years."