21 Aug 2006

Solomons National Party loses most MPs

1:38 pm on 21 August 2006

Six of the seven parliamentary members of the Solomon Islands National Party have resigned from the party.

The Solomon Islands Broadcasting Corporation says they are Joses Sanga, Patteson Oti, Isaac Tosika, Nollen Leni, Reverend Leslie Boseto and Martin Maga.

They say they resigned because the party machinery had unsatisfactorily handled the stand off between the government and the interim parliamentary wing leader of the party, Francis Billy Hilly.

The MPs also say that the position advocated by the party on its position on the One-China Policy defeats the collective stance adopted by the coalition and undermines the policies of the government