7 Apr 2006

Several provisional results announced for the Solomon Islands elections

10:17 am on 7 April 2006

There are now several provisional results announced for the Solomon Islands elections.

The caretaker Finance Minister, Peter Boyers, retains his seat in the West New Georgia constituency in Western Province.

Another result for the province sees the leader of the Association of Independent Members' group, Snyder Rini, keep his seat in Marovo.

A prominent opposition figure, Francis Billy Hilly, is also returned in Western Province.

And, several others retain their seats, including independent, Trevor Olovae, in Western Province, James Tora in Makira, and Siriako Usa in Guadalcanal.

But, two others have been overturned - Joses Tuhanuku in Rennell/Bellona province where Seth Gukura, a former ambassador to Taiwan, is now the MP, and North Guadalcanal, where independent Martin Sopaghe won over Edmond Rukale of the People's Alliance Party.