21 Dec 2005

Solomons parliament dissolved

11:21 am on 21 December 2005

The Solomon Islands Parliament has been officially dissolved.

Except for the Prime Minister, Sir Allan Kemakeza, and his Cabinet Ministers, all ordinary members of Parliament now become former members of Parliament.

The Prime Minister and his ministers now become a caretaker government until after the 2006 National General Elections or after a new government is in place next year.

The Kemakeza government has run its full term - the first government to do so since Independence in 1978.

The General Election will take place towards the end of March 2006.