23 Jun 2005

Bougainville's autonomous government's ten person Cabinet sworn in

4:34 pm on 23 June 2005

The President of the Papua New Guinea province of Bougainville, Joseph Kabui, will continue to take a close interest in the peace process as the newly installed autonomous government settles down to work.

Mr Kabui has named his full ten person Cabinet line up and he will handle intergovernment affairs and reconciliation, peace and autonomy issues.

The Finance Minister will be Mathias Salas, who will also look after minerals, gas and petroleum exploration.

Vice President Joseph Watawi is in charge of the public service, trade and industry, and micro-financing.

The former deputy governor, Gerard Sinato is Health Minister.

He will also oversee environmental and conservation matters.

The only woman in the Cabinet, Magdalene Toroansi, will be Minister for women, religion and traditional authority.

Ezekiel Masatt is Minister of Police, while the member representing the Central Bougainville ex-militants, Glen Tovirika, is the Minister for Youth and will handle veterans affairs.