18 Aug 2003

Geoffrey Heather wins Cook Islands by-election

4:38 pm on 18 August 2003

Electoral officials in the Cook Islands have confirmed that last week's by-election in the Rua'au electorate has been won by Democratic Party candidate, Geoffrey Heather.

Mr Heather won convincingly from Cook Islands National Party leader, Teariki Heather, and Cook Islands Party candidate, Vaine Wichman.

Meanwhile, the government may face another by-election after MP Teina Bishop handed in his resignation to the Speaker of Parliament, Sir Pupuke Robati.

Mr Bishop had earlier objected to cuts in the budget affecting his electorate and

offered his resignation to his party leader, Sir Geoffrey Henry, but Sir Henry did not hand it on to the Speaker.