Navigation for The Critic's Chair

The Critic's Chair series ended in March 2015.

The Critic's Chair for 9 March 2014

Peter Mechen presents a tribute to one of the great conductors of our time Claudio Abbado (1933-2014), who passed away in January of this year. We get an overview of Abbado's key recordings from throughout his career.

Music Details:

PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No 3 in C Op 26Beethoven Berg
Martha Argerich (pno), Berlin Phil/Claudio Abbado
DG 477 438

MOZART: Piano Concerto No 25 in C K503
Martha Argerich (pno), Orchestra Mozart/Claudio Abbado
DG 479 1033

MENDELSSOHN: Symphony No 3 in A minor Op 56, Scottish
London SO/Claudio Abbado
DG 415 973

Mendelssohn AbbadoJANACEK: Sinfonietta Op 60; The Diary of One Who Disappeared
Brigitte Balleys (mezzo), Philip Langridge (tenor), Women of the RIAS Chorus, Berlin Phil/Claudio Abbado
DG 427 313

NONO: Como una ola de fuerza y luz
Slavka Taskova (soprano), Maurizio Pollini (piano), Bavarian Radio SO/Claudio Abbado
DG 423 248

BEETHOVEN: Violin Concerto in D Op 61; BERG: Violin Concerto,
To the memory of an angel
Isabelle Faust (violin), Orchestra Mozart/Claudio AbbadoAbbado Argerich
Harmonia Mundi HMC 90 2105

MAHLER: Symphony No 2, Resurrection
Eteri Gvazava (sop), Orfeon Donastiarra Chorus, Lucerne Festival Orch/Claudio Abbado
DG 477 5082

ROSSINI: Il Viaggio a Reims
Prauge Philharmonic Chorus, Chamber Orch of Europe/Claudio Abbado
DG 415 498