Navigation for Sound Lounge


WHITEHEAD: Hine Te Kakara
Aroha Yates-Smith (voc), Richard Nunns (taonga puoro), Ashley Brown (cello), Ingrid Culliford, Alexa Still (fls), Ben Hoadley (bsn)

LILBURN: Salutes to Seven Poets (ARD Fairburn, Keith Sinclair, Allen Curnow, Michael K Joseph, James K Baxter, Kendrick Smithyman, RAK Mason, Epilogue)
Donald Maurice (vla), Richard Mapp (pno)
Atoll ACD 413

FARR: The Horizon from Owhiro Bay; Nga Whetu e Whitu
Henry Wong Doe (pno)
Trust MMT 2070

8:00 Morag Atchison (sop), Kate Spence (mezzo), Thomas Atkins (ten), Moses Mackay (bass), NZSO National Youth Orch, NZ Youth Choir/Wyn Davies

TIPPETT: A Child Of Our Time

(rec at the CBS Canterbury Arena, Chch, by RNZC)

9:30 Microtonalism (don’t be put off by the –ism)

Radiohead: How to Disappear Completely
Parlophone 527753

JOHNSTON: String Quartet No 10
Kepler Quartet
New World Records 80693-2

10:00 William Dart introduces Charlie Haden Liberation Music Orchestra

Don Cherry (cornet, Indian wood flute, bamboo flute -2,4) Mike Mantler (trumpet) Roswell Rudd (trombone) Bob Northern (French horn, hand wood blocks, crow call, bells, military whistle) Howard Johnson (tuba) Perry Robinson (clarinet) Dewey Redman (alto,tenor saxophone) Gato Barbieri (tenor saxophone, clarinet) Charlie Haden (bass violin) Carla Bley (piano, tambourine, arranger) Sam Brown (guitar, Tanganyikan guitar, thumb piano -2/6) Paul Motian (percussion) Andrew Cyrille (percussion -7)

Judson Hall, NYC, April 27, 28 & 29, 1969

11:00 New Music Dreams

J MILLS: Ethereal Eye
Jane Edwards (sop), Nigel Crocker (tbn), Jonathan Mills (pno), Synergy Percussion
ABC 465 419