Navigation for Sound Lounge

7:00 SOUNZ Contemporary Award at the APRA Silver Scrolls, being held in Akld tonight

Interviews with the composers of this year’s finalists, Karlo Margetic for Lightbox, Michael Norris for Time Dance and Chris Gendall for Triple Concerto

MARGETIC: Lightbox

Karlo Margetic photo by Gareth Watkins

2013 SOUNZ Contemporary Award winner Karlo Margetic. Photo: Gareth Watkins

GENDALL: Triple Concerto
NZTrio, Orchestra Wellington/Marc Taddei

NORRIS: Time Dance
Stroma: Anna van der Zee, Megan Molina (vln), Rowan Prior (cello), Emma Sayers (pno), Michael Norris (electronics)/Hamish McKeich

8:40 Invented Instruments

Simon Cuming, Derek Terne, Marcel Bear, Adrian Croucher, Phil Dadson, Jeff Henderson, Dan Beban, Nel Thomas, Bridget Johnson, Jason Erskine, Drew McMillan, Gret Malcolm, Sean Kerr, Julian Rosenburg, Ivan Mrsic, James McCarthy (all playing instruments of their own invention)

(recorded at the Audio Foundation, Akld, at a concert of small group improvisations at the Invented Instrument Orchestra Convention, by RNZC)


FAZIL SAY: Symphony No 3, Universe Symphony
Carolina Eyck (theremin), Aykut Koserlerli (percussion), Borusan Istanbul Phil/Gurer Aykal
Naive V5346

Francois Salque (cello), Vincent Perani (accordion), Tomas Gubitsch (gtr)
Zig Zag Territories ZZT 332

FILFLA: Lumo; Pine (from the album Frolicfron)
Keichi Sugimoto (guitar, electronics, vocals), Sanae Yamasaki (vocals)
Headz 108

11:00 New Music Dreams

FINCH/KEITA: Clychau Dibon (album)
Catrin Finch (harp), Seckou Keita (kora)
Astar Artes