Navigation for Sound Lounge

7:05 - Previewing the APO & NZSO's seasons

BODY: Pulse
New Zealand SO/Kenneth Young
Rattle RAT-D009

Jack Body is the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra's 2012-2013 Composer-in-Residence.

LILBURN: Symphony No 3
NZSO/James Judd
Naxos 8.555862

Pietari Inkinen will conduct this work with the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra in both Wellington & Auckland in April.

ADÈS: …but all shall be well
City of Birmingham SO/Thomas Adès
EMI 5 56818

The Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra opens their 21 June 2012 concert with this 1993 work, conducted by Ekart Preu.

K YOUNG: 4th mvt, Allegro moderato cantabile, from Brass Quintet No 1
New Zealand Chamber Brass
(private rec)

The NZSO has commissioned a new work from Ken Young for première in March, and they will be performing his older work Dance in five North Island centres in October 2012.

8:00 - The Nerve

Six programmes

(6) Sentimental Journey (Music & Emotion)

Some music expresses joy; other music expresses sorrow. It also can affect our emotions and 'make' us happy or sad. Jowi Taylor asks what makes sad music sad, and whether those elements are universal across cultures. Music is like a drug, in a way. It's used to enhance the effect of dramatic entertainment and evoke moods in an audience. We often use it to alter our own moods. Is there a recipe composers can use to achieve these ends? Taylor wonders whether music really is the language of our emotions (CBC)

8:56 - More previews

McLEOD: For Seven
Lontano/Odaline de la Martinez
Lorelt LNT 116

Jenny McLeod's opera Hohepa will be premièred by New Zealand Opera in March, as part of the 2012 New Zealand International Arts Festival.

SCRIABIN: Symphony No 3 in C minor Op 47, Le Divin Poème
Concertgebouw Orch/Kiril Kondrashin
Etcetera KTC 1027

The APO's Music Director Eckehard Stier, a champion of neglected 20th-century repertoire, directs this work in the Auckland Town Hall on 1 March 2012.

Tom Winpenny (organ of St Alban's Cathedral)
Naxos 8.572687

10:07 - New Zealand Jazz

BRADLEY: Resonator (complete album)
Reuben Bradley (drums/perc/drum machine), Roger Manins (tsax), Miles Crayford (pno/Rhodes/synth), Mostyn Cole (bass); with Kirsten Te Rito (vox), Jimes Illingworth (synth) and Tom Callwood (db)
Rattle RAT-J-1003

11:05 - New Music Dreams

ACHALINOTOPOULOS arr Psathas: Doxastiko
Manos Achalinotopoulos (clarion), Vangelis Karipis (perc), Nederlands Blazers Ensemble
NBE Live NBECD 014

LLOYD/FARANTOUMI arr Farazis: Greek Suite, Parts I-III
Charles Lloyd (sax/fl/tarogato), Maria Farantouri (voice), Jason Moran (pno), Reuben Rogers (bass), Eric Harland (drums), Socratis Sinopoulos (lyra), Takis Farazis (pno)
ECM 2205/06