Navigation for Sound Lounge

Tuesday 2 November 2010

Presented by Robbie Ellis


University of Waikato UWMD 1202

Hamilton composer Ian Whalley composed Mittsu no Yugo and had it performed simultaneously in New Zealand, China and Canada as part of the Beijing Musicacoustica Festival. (More details on the University of Waikato website.)

NORRIS: Dirty Pixels
NZTrio: Sarah Watkins (pno), Justine Cormack (vln), Ashley Brown (cello)
Trust MMT 2066

Wellington composer Michael Norris has had recent double success: last month he was accepted into the Trans-Tasman Exchange Programme (more details on the SOUNZ website) and had a new chamber orchestra work performed at the Donaueschingen Music Days (programme details at Southwest German Radio). German newspaper Die Zeit said Norris "let gently shimmering globes of sound grow out of a chamber orchestra, captivatingly realised by Peter Eötvös and the Netherlands Radio Chamber Philharmonic" (original article, in German).

Michael Norris
Interview with Eva Radich on today's Upbeat. (duration: 20′11″)

Michael Norris and other composers are interviewed by Hans Haffmans (host of Radio Netherlands' Live! At the Concertgebouw, among other things):

7:31 - Resound

Kenneth Young introduces:
DAVID FARQUHAR: Equali - Eight duos for two violins
Douglas Beilman & Dean Major (vlns)
Recorded by Radio New Zealand in Studio One, Broadcasting House, Wellington, 1991

(Programme 3 of 10 - more details at

7:53 - Birthdays

LILBURN: Toronto Tailfeather
Atoll ACD 404

Douglas Lilburn was born on this day in 1915.

SCHOLES: Islands II (2nd mvt)
Peter Scholes (clarinets, Yamaha FPX900, computer)
Rattle RAT D 003

Dear Peter Scholes: happy birthday from Sound Lounge.

8:03 - Karlheinz Company concert

LEONIE HOLMES: Fragment for string quartet
Ryan Chen & Wendy Yang (vlns), Alex MacDonald (vla), Seul-gi Kim (cello)

SØREN NILS EICHBERG: Four Pieces for bassoon and piano
Ben Hoadley (bsn), Flora Lee (pno)

SAMUEL HOLLOWAY: Impossible Songs
Tania Priebs (sop), Ryan Chen & Wendy Yang (vlns), Alex MacDonald (vla), Seul-gi Kim (cello)

ALISON GRANT: Layin In / Layin Out
Alistair Greenwood (fl), Finn Schofield (cls), Wendy Yang (vln), Alex MacDonald (vla), Jason Hopkins (cello), Jonathan Lee (db), Shaun Li (pno), John Elmsly (cond)

Deng Liang (pno)

Recorded by Radio New Zealand Concert in the University of Auckland Music Theatre, 4 October 2009.

9:27 - A little more from Auckland

RADOJKOVIC: Record; Arrrpeggiator
Dr Colossus
(Dr Colossus EP)

9:32 - Fearful Symmetries

ROWE / SPICE GIRLS / STANNARD: Wannabe (excerpt)
Spice Girls
Virgin 8 42174

Fearful Symmetries is a series of eleven documentaries celebrating each decade of the 20th Century and the first decade of the 21st Century. Roger Smith and a selection of New Zealand experts survey musical landmarks and innovative movements in the arts.

(10) 1990-1999: Deconstruction/Reconstruction (RNZ)

11:30 - Congratulations Gareth!

Composer Gareth FarrTonight it was announced that composer Gareth Farr is a recipient of an Arts Foundation Laureate Award. The announcement was made tonight in Dunedin, and all winners walk away with a no-strings attached gift of $50,000.

The other winners for 2010 are actor Stuart Devenie (who has worked a number of times with the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra); cinematographer Leon Narbey; ceramicist and set designer John Parker; and choreographer Michael Parmenter.

FARR: Frenzy
New Zealand String Quartet
Trust MMT 2019

11:42 - New Music Dreams - Alexander Ivashkin in the 1990s

SCHNITTKE: Madrigal in memoriam Oleg Kagan
Alexander Ivashkin (cello)
Manu CD MANU 1480

BISLEY: Waiata
Alexander Ivashkin (cello)
Manu CD MANU 1544