Navigation for Sound Lounge

Tuesday 2 February 2010

7:00 Grammy Awards

SIERRA: Trio tropical
Naxos 8.559263

HIGDON: Percussion Concerto
Colin Currie (perc), London Phil/Marin Alsop
LPO Live LPO 0035

GOLIJOV: Crepusculo delirante; Doy mi sangre; You soy la libertad, from Ainadamar, Fountain of Tears
Dawn Upshaw (sop), Anne-Carolyn Bird, Sindhu Chandrasekaran (vox), Women of the Atlanta SO Chorus, Atlanta SO/Robert Spano
Deutsche Grammophon 00289 477 6165

8:00 NZSO/Todd Young Composer Awards 2008

In a two day workshop eleven New Zealand composers under the age of 25 have their works performed by the New Zealand SO and talk about those works with Radio New Zealand's Rebecca Blundell

Two programmes


JUNE DAMS: Homeostasis, An Endless Sad Dance of Life and Death
KATIE JOHNSON: Prelude to the Unspoken
AJITA GOH: Reflection
HANNAH GILMOUR: Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?

(recorded in the Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington by RNZ)

9:00 New music as it was in 2000

BOULEZ: Repons
Ensemble InterContemporain/Pierre Boulez
Deutsche Grammophon 457 605

VAN AA: Just Before, for piano & soundtrack
Tomoko Mukaiyama (pno)
Composer's Voice CV 119

HARTKE: Cathedral in the Thrashing Rain
Hilliard Ensemble
ECM 1861 (476 0512)

WUORINEN: Cyclops 2000
London Sinf/Oliver Knussen
London Sinfonietta SINF CD4-2006

BIRTWISTLE: The Axe Manual
Nicholas Hodges (pno), Claire Edwardes (perc)
Metronome MET CD 1074

11:00 New Music Dreams

AFGHAH: Genesis, Universe, Life, Tombak Improv
Navid Afghah (tombak)
Hermes HER-012