Navigation for Music Alive

Tan Dun

Tan Dun Photo: RNZ/Tim Dodd

Chinese composer, Tan Dun conducts the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra in a concert celebrating the Chinese New Year.

Two of his recent compositions are featured in the concert: Passacaglia - Secret of Wind and Birds, and Farewell My Concubine, Concerto for piano, Peking Opera soprano and orchestra with soloists Xiao Di and Ralph van Raat.

The concert opens with the Ritual Fire Dance by Falla and ends with The Firebird Suite by Stravinsky.

In the interval, there's an interview with Tan Dun ... he talks to Tim Dodd.

The concert is presented by Mary Newman-Pound.

Peking Opera soprano Xiao Di in rehearsal

Peking Opera soprano Xiao Di in rehearsal Photo: RNZ/Tim Dodd