Jean-Efflam Bavouzet (piano) / Andrew Gourlay (conductor)

Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet

Jean-Efflam Bavouzet Photo: Wikicommons

Languid, sensual, ecstatic, Claude Debussy’s Prélude à l’Après-midi d’un Faun is the beginning of modern music. And when the Ballets Russes gave it languid, sensual, ecstatic (and scandalous) choreography, the piece became the beginning of modern dance.

The superb French pianist Jean-Efflam Bavouzet plays Maurice Ravel’s delicious Piano Concerto in G: two jazzy, featherweight outer movements framing a deeply felt Adagio.

Sergei Prokofiev’s Symphony No.6 was written in the aftermath of World War II. Although inevitably a terribly sad testimony to human anguish, it’s stark, spiky and intensely dramatic.

Text courtesy of

Live broadcast from Auckland Town Hall, by RNZ Concert