South Africa

Profiles of the 2015 Rugby World Cup teams.

Morne Steyn, 2014.


The Springboks' build-up to the World Cup in England has been plagued by injuries of varying seriousness to numerous players.

But the two-time world champions are ranked third going into the Cup and have a proud, and strong rugby tradition, and cannot be ruled out as potential victors.

They were knocked out in the quarter finals in 2011 after winning the cup in 2007.

Veteran lock Victor Matfield, who retired after the last World Cup, has come out of retirement to join the team, and will be the oldest player at the tournament at the age of 38.

Samoa, Scotland, United States and Japan  are the other Pool B opponents of the Springboks.  


Full-backs: Willie le Roux, Zane Kirchner

Wingers: JP Pietersen, Bryan Habana, Cornal Hendricks, Lwazi Mvovo

Centres: Jean de Villiers (capt), Jesse Kriel, Damian de Allende, Francois Steyn, Lionel Mapoe, Jan Serfontein

First-fives: Handre Pollard, Patrick Lambie, Morne Steyn, Elton Jantjies

Scrum-halves: Fourie du Preez, Ruan Pienaar, Cobus Reinach, Rudy Paige


Loosehead props: Tendai 'The Beast' Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Heinke van der Merwe, Steven Kitshoff, Coenie Oosthuizen

Hookers: Bismarck du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss, Schalk Brits

Tighthead props: Jannie du Plessis, Vincent Koch, Frans Malherbe, Marcel van der Merwe

Locks: Eben Etzebeth, Victor Matfield (vice-capt), Lood de Jager, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Flip van der Merwe   

Loose forwards: Willem Alberts, Francois Louw, Marcell Coetzee, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brussow, Teboho 'Oupa' Mohojo, Siya Kolisi

Number 8:  Duane Vermeulen, Warren Whiteley


Heyneke Meyer