10 Jun 2013

Ahuwhenua awards highlight best Maori farmers

6:28 am on 10 June 2013

The finest Maori sheep and beef farmers were honoured at the Ahuwhenua Trophy awards at the weekend.

Te Awahohonu Forest Trust - Tarawera Station won the Ahuwhenua Trophy for Maori Excellence in Farming Award.

Jordan Smith, a shepherd from Te Kuiti, was the Ahuwhenua Young Maori Sheep and Beef Farmer of the Year.

The judges praised Mr Smith's attitude to education, saying he not only appreciates the need for it, but strives to learn all he can about sheep and beef farming.

It was the 80th anniversary of the Ahuwhenua Trophy, which began in 1932 as a competition for Maori dairy farmers but was later expanded to include sheep and beef farmers.

The sectors alternate each year, with dairy farmers to be honoured in 2014.