9 Apr 2011

Four athletes make initial World Track Field team

2:10 pm on 9 April 2011

Athletics New Zealand has announced the initial selections for the World Track Field Championships in Korea, starting in late August.

The four athletes named, shot putter Valerie Adams, javelin thrower Stuart Farquhar, runner Nikki Hamblin (800 metres, 1500 metres) and 100 metre hurdler Andrea Miller, were all medallists at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in Delhi.

A number of athletes begin Northern hemisphere campaigns in coming months and are expected to be added to the team for Daegu. The championships begin August 27th and run until September the 4th.

Further selections will be announced in June and the final team selection will be announced after August the 8th.