5 Mar 2011

Some tinkering to New Zealand Rowing squad

2:08 pm on 5 March 2011

Last year's World Champion crews stay together but there have been a few changes in the New Zealand Rowing squad for this year.

The crews that won on Lake Karapiro, the men's pair of Eric Murray and Hamish Bond, the women's pair of Juliette Haigh and Rebecca Scown and the men's double scull of Nathan Cohen and Joseph Sullivan remain unchanged.

The men's four has changed completely with old hands Carl Meyer and James Dallinger from the 2007 World Campionship-winning crew teamed with young guns Ian Seymour and Tobias Wehr Candler, both of whom were in the eight that made the world final at Karapiro 2010.

David Eade, Hamish Burson and Jade Uru from the four move into the eight alongside existing crew members Sean O'Neill, Ben Hammond, Chris Harris, Adam Tripp and Tyson Williams.

There is also a new look women's lightweight double scull with Louise Ayling, who took a silver medal in the world champs last November moving into the boat alongside national champion Lucy Strack.

That leaves no place for Halberg Emerging Talent finalist Julia Edward, who moves into the Under-23 lightweight double with up and coming Alyce Pulford.

2009 world champions Peter Taylor and Storm Uru continue in the men's lightweight double, and three times world champion Duncan Grant carries on in his single scull.

The heavyweight single scullers remain four times world champion Mahé Drysdale and bronze medal winner at Karapiro, Emma Twigg.