31 Oct 2010

Meads Cup heads south as Wanganui flounder in Oamaru

11:45 am on 31 October 2010

North Otago have won the Meads Cup, beating the holders Wanganui 39-18 in the lower-tier provincial rugby final in Oamaru.

Wanganui showed their attacking intent from the kick-off, regathering the ball before scoring the opening try two minutes later.

But North Otago soon got on the board and ended the half leading 17-13 with three tries as Wanganui lost a player to a yellow card.

The hosts didn't hold back with the wind in the second half, scoring again after being held up over the line to push out to a 24-13 lead.

A penalty pushed North Otago's lead out to two converted tries and while Wanganui scored with 10 minutes to go, the home side hit back twice more to seal the title.

Earlier, Wairarapa Bush beat Buller 15-9 in the final of the Lochore Cup.

Locked up at 6-6 at half-time in Westport, two more penalties and a drop kick were enough for the Bush as their hosts Buller could only manage one penalty in the tryless affair.