5 May 2014

Brisbane win A league grand final in extra time

11:39 am on 5 May 2014

In a dramatic finish to Sunday night's A-League football Grand Final, the Brisbane Roar thrilled a capacity home crowd of 52,000 with a 2-1 victory over the Western Sydney Wanderers.

The Sydney side, in only their second season, had the better of the game and led 1-0 until five minutes from full time when the home side came up with an equalising goal, and Brazilian Henrique gave the Wanderers their second straight heartbreaking Grand Final loss with the winning goal in the second period of extra time.

Brisbane are the first team to win the title three times, and they've won them in the last four years.