10 Aug 2013

Super Rugby to go to two conferences

6:11 am on 10 August 2013

Super Rugby chiefs are seriously considering splitting the current three-conference system into two from 2016 and adding two teams from Argentina.

Under a possible Super 18 model which appears the most logical future competition, Australian and New Zealand sides would join together in their own conference while South Africa would combine with Argentina.

Leading officials also say there's the possibility of Japanese teams being added in three years' time, but there's plenty of work to be done.

While SANZAR, which aims to finalise its next model by the end of the year, has a lot to consider before deciding upon its preferred model, the three-conference system looks to be coming towards an end.

That would result in the five New Zealand teams playing each other twice and the five Australian sides once for 13 matches before both conferences came together in a six or eight-team finals series.

SANZAR is pushing for the June international window to be moved to July to ensure Super Rugby can be played in one complete block instead of being interrupted for test matches before the play-offs.