21 Apr 2012

NBL to continue as nine-team competition

9:59 am on 21 April 2012

Basketball Australia has announced that the National Basketball League will remain a nine-team competition for the 2012/13 season.

The NBL Commission had received licence bids from a Brisbane-based group as well as a second Melbourne team and, for the past few months, had undergone a review to determine their viability.

But BA Chairperson Kristina Keneally says neither bid was able to satisfy the entry criteria to be granted a licence for the next season and says any new team has to be financially sustainable.