19 Jan 2011

Series victory for Pakistan after test ends in draw

7:29 pm on 19 January 2011

Pakistan have claimed their first series win since 2006, after the second test cricket against New Zealand ended in a draw on Wednesday.

Pakistan finished on 225 for 5 after the New Zealanders set a target of 274 at the Basin Reserve in Wellington.

The test had been evenly poised heading into the fifth day, with Pakistan looking capable of reaching the required target on a batsmen's pitch.

New Zealand took three early wickets, giving their fans hope of a win to level the two test series.

But Pakistan had other ideas, denying the home side's bowlers the chance to draw the test and claimed a 1-nil series triumph.

New Zealand broke through early, with Tim Southee getting the first wicket and Chris Martin the next two.

But Pakistan recovered from 42 for three before lunch, thanks to a century stand between Younis Khan (81) and captain Misbah ul Haq, who was unbeaten on 60.

The one-day series begins in Wellington on Saturday.


New Zealand: 356 (D Vettori 110, R Taylor 78; U Gul 4-87, T Ahmed 3-93) and 293 (M Guptill 73, B McCullum 64; U Gul 4-61, A Rehman 3-119)

Pakistan: 376 (M ul Haq 99, Y Khan 73; D Vettori 4-100, C Martin 4-91) and 5-226 (Y Khan 81, M ul Haq 70 not out).

World Cup squad announced

Wellington left-arm spinner Luke Woodcock and Canterbury fast bowler Hamish Bennett have made the 15-man World Cup cricket squad.

Woodcock is the only uncapped one-day international player, while Bennett is back from injury after making his ODI debut in Bangladesh last year.

Veteran allrounder Jacob Oram returns as does Central Districts batsman Jamie How, a surprise selection as back-up wicketkeeper to Brendon McCullum.

The World Cup will be played in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the first game on 19 February.

Squad: Daniel Vettori (captain), Hamish Bennett, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Jamie How, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson and Luke Woodcock.