5 May 2014

Analyse this: colleagues vie for title

6:53 am on 5 May 2014

The three finalists for analyst of the year in the Institute of Finance Professionals, awards this year are all from the same firm.

The three analysts nominated are Arie Dekker, Stephen Ridgewell and Grant Swanepoel.

Infinz executive director Jim McElwain said it's just a coincidence they're all from Craigs Investment Partners.

The three companies nominated for best corporate communicator among major companies are Auckland International Airport, Contact Energy and Fisher & Paykel Healthcare.

Among smaller companies, Abano Healthcare and Comvita are up for the best corporate communicator award.

no caption


Abano is also nominated in the best merger and acquisition category for its successful defence against an unwanted takeover offer supported by a former director, Peter Hutson.

Abano's nomination is somewhat ironic in that Mr Hutson has continued to agitate against the company, calling for a vote to unseat chairman Trevor Janes and accusing the board of poor corporate governance and a flawed growth strategy.

Abano is up against stiff competition as Ebos Group has also been nominated for last year's acquisition of Symbion, a transaction which catapulted the company to the ranks of the nation's largest listed companies.