17 Apr 2023

Race Unity Speech Awards marks 21 years

From Here Now, 5:00 am on 17 April 2023

"There are many race-related issues New Zealand still needs to address and the Race Unity Speeches are one small part of that journey we need to be undertaking" - Māori cultural advocate Aperahama Hurihanganui.

Māori cultural advocate Aperahama Hurihanganui

 Aperahama Hurihanganui Photo: Engaging Well Ltd

Each year, hundreds of high school students compete in New Zealand's Race Unity Speech Awards.

For many past winners, the awards have been a career springboard. 

In this episode of Voices, three past winners talk about how the awards help young Kiwis find their voices.

This episode of Voices features 2022 Race Unity Speech Awards finalist Leo Mwape, 2015 winner Mira Karunanidhi and 2010 winner Aperahama Hurihanganui - the first national champion to deliver his speech entirely in te reo Māori.


Two young speakers named joint national champions at the 2022 Race Unity Speech Awards

Jess Jenkins - winner of the 2021 Race Unity Speech Awards

Zoha Shuaib - runner-up at the 2018 Race Unity Speech Awards

Takunda Muzondiwa - finalist at the 2019 Race Unity Speech Awards