27 Sep 2017

50 years of the Frances Hodgkins Fellowship

From Nine To Noon, 10:05 am on 27 September 2017

Some of the finest artworks ever produced in New Zealand have come out of the Frances Hodgkins Fellowship.

It was the country's first and foremost visual arts residency, established by the University of Otago Council in 1966, to encourage New Zealand artists 'in the practice and advancement of their art', providing them with studio space in Dunedin and a year's stipend.

The Fellowship alumni is a who's who of New Zealand's art world - from the inaugural recipient, Michael Illingworth in 1966 to Ralph Hotere, Grahame Sydney, Gretchen Albrecht, Fiona Pardington, Shane Cotton, Seraphine Pick, and the current fellow - Miranda Parkes.

A new book celebrating the fellowship and highlighting the lives and works of the 50 artists was launched in Dunedin last night.

Arts commentator Priscilla Pitts and journalist Andrea Hotere (daughter of the 1969 Fellow Ralph) are its co-authors.