12 Dec 2014

Ministry announcement of flagship communities of schools

From Nine To Noon, 9:27 am on 12 December 2014

The government's flagship communities of schools - today the Ministry of Education will name the 90 schools which will make up the first 11 collaborative hubs. From next term, these communities of primary and secondary schools will work together, with senior principals and teachers taking leadership and mentoring roles across schools, and being paid more for those roles. Two schools opting into the policy next year are John Paul College in Rotorua and St Mary's primary school in Tauranga. Their principals are Patrick Walsh from John Paul College - a former President of the Principals' Association; and Ben Fuller from St Mary's Primary.