09:05 Government poised to declare drought in Northland as farmers plead for help

Julie Jonker, Northland Rural Support Trust coordinator and dairy farmer from Mata; Tafi Manjala, from Dairy NZ, an industry organisation owned by dairy farmers. Tafi is the Regional Leader for Northland, where he works alongside three field staff liasing with 1100 dairy farmers in the region; and James Houghton, dairy farmer and Federated Farmers' Waikato provincial president.

09:25 The Everyday Sexism Project

Laura Bates set up the Everyday Sexism Project website which catalogues experiences of sexism in everyday life. More than 20,000 submissions have been received in less than a year and the information is now being used by politicians and charities in the UK.

09:45 Australia correspondent Karen Middleton, chief political correspondent for SBS Television

10:05 Vikram Kumar - Mega CEO

Vikram Kumar is the CEO of Kim Dotcom's new cloud storage site Mega. He headed up the non-profit industry group InternetNZ from 2010-2013 and prior to that worked at the State Services Commission and Telecom.

10:35 Book Review with Emma Hart

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
Published by Text

10:45 Reading: Among the Cinders, by Maurice Shadbolt

The story of a 16-year-old who accompanies his larger-than-life grandfather on a nostalgic trip through New Zealand (Part 3 of 10)

11:05 Music review with Marty Duda

Artist of the Week - Johnny Marr

While a member of The Smiths, Johnny Marr became one of the most influential guitarists of his generation. Since leaving the band he has worked with a number of bands including The Pretenders, Electronic, The The, Neil Finn's Seven Worlds Collide project, Modest Mouse and The Cribs. Marr has just released his first solo album, The Messenger.

1. Get The Message (3:51) - Electronic taken from 1991 album "Electronic" (Factory)
2. Missed The Boat (4:25) - Modest Mouse taken from 2007 album "We Were Dead Before The Ship Even Sank" (Epic)
3. We Share The Same Skies (3:15) - The Cribs taken from 2009 album "Ignore The Ignorant" (Shock)
4. New Town Velocity (5:11) - Johnny Marr taken from 2013 album "'The Messenger" (Warner Bros.)

11:30 Legal commentator Ryan Malone

11:45 Science commentator Siouxsie Wiles

Local citizen science projects Marine Metre Squared and Nature Watch NZ; Seaweek events; and how fruit flies medicate their young.

Music played in this show


Tom Waits - Downtown Train
Blur - Out of Time
The XX - Chained
Thin Lizzy - Dancing in the Moonlight