26 Dec 2009

The Mixtape: Dave Dobbyn

From RNZ Music, 4:00 pm on 26 December 2009

For the Mixtape, celebrity musical guests are invited in to spin their choicest cuts.

In this episode New Zealand music icon Dave Dobbyn selects sounds that sum up his 30 years in music, and tells us why.

This audio is not downloadable due to copyright restrictions.

Dave Dobbyn in Th' Dudes

Dave Dobbyn in Th' Dudes Photo: c/o Audioculture

The songs are:

'Double Barrel' - Dave & Arnell Collins;

'Just One Look' - Doris Troy;

'In the Dream Life U Need a Rubber Soul' - The Clean;

'Reach Out I'll Be There' - The Four Tops;

'Cello Song' - Nick Drake;

'Dry Bones' - The Delta Rhythm Boys;

'Said I Wasn't Gonna Tell Nobody' - The Abyssinian Baptist Gospel Choir;

'Lay Lady Lay' - Bob Dylan;

'The Mercy Seat' - Johnny Cash;

'Everything That Happens Will Happen Today' - David Byrne and Brian Eno.

Colouring in Dave Dobbyn colouring.

Colouring in Dave Dobbyn colouring. Photo: FACEBOOK


Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes