15 Jul 2021

2021 APRA Silver Scroll Awards Top 20 and Maioha finalists announced 

From RNZ Music, 7:00 am on 15 July 2021

Troy Kingi, Merk, The Beths, and Maisey Rika are among the finalists for this year's APRA Silver Scroll Award. 

Widely considered the most prestigious accolade in New Zealand music, the APRA Silver Scroll Award recognises outstanding achievement in the craft of songwriting.

Past winners include Benee, Lorde, Marlon Williams, Dave Dobbyn, and Bic Runga.

“These lists are a wonderful reflection of the incredible music being written all across Aotearoa - songs that tell our stories, lead us to contemplate issues or questions, and make us feel something” says APRA Head of NZ Operations Anthony Healey.  
“Of course there are plenty of excellent songwriters who missed out – coming up with these lists is always a hard job for the judging panels, and we thank and commend everyone who continues to create such valuable work.”    

This Top 20 list was chosen from over 250 entries by a judging panel of 10 fellow songwriters, who have each made wonderful contributions to the NZ music community.  

APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2021

APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2021 Photo: supplied

APRA Silver Scroll Top 20 

1 - All Your Ships Have Sailed, written and performed by Troy Kingi 

2 - Anna (On My Life), written and performed by Adam Tukiri and Rizván Tu'itahi

3 – BATHSALTS, written by Clark Mathews, Daniel Vernon, Christan Pianta, Hakopa Kuka-Larsen, performed by DARTZ

4 - Brains, written by Madeline Bradley, performed by deryk  

5 - Broken Chains, written by Tyree Tautogia, Sidney Diamond, Fred Fa'afou, Ché Ness, Willie Tafa, Solo Tohi, Wasim A. Hussain, Darryl Thompson, Angus McNaughton, performed by Smashproof 

6 - Don't Run, written by Sid Diamond and Nathan King, performed by Sid Diamond

7 - Dragon Fruit (Feat. Louis Baker), written by Tony Sihamau, Lance Fepuleai, Harry Huavi, Louis Baker, performed by Team Dynamite featuring Louis Baker

8 - Guilty Love, written by Phillipa Brown, Georgia Nott, Tommy English, performed by Ladyhawke and Broods 

9 - Hey Mom, written and performed by Reb Fountain 

10 - Hiwa-i-te-rangi, written by Maisey Rika, Callum Rei McDougall, Chris Chetland, performed by Maisey Rika

11 - Jump Rope Gazers, written by Elizabeth Stokes, Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair, Tristan Deck, performed by The Beths 

12 - Laps Around The Sun, written by Mark Perkins, performed by Merk 

13 - Leave Love Out Of This, written by Anthonie Tonnon and Jonathan Pearce, performed by Anthonie Tonnon

14 – Lightswitch, written by Mona Sanei, Frank Eliesa, performed by CHAII 

15 - No Flowers, written by Dallas Tamaira and Devin Abrams, performed by Dallas Tamaira 

16 - Periphescence, written by Daniel McBride, performed by Sheep, Dog & Wolf

17 - Stand In, written by Deva Mahal and Aaron Livingston, performed by Deva Mahal

18 - Tangaroa, written by Henry de Jong, Lewis de Jong, Ethan Trembath, Niel de Jong, performed by Alien Weaponry

19 - Turangawaewae, written by Stephen Harmer, Maisey Rika, Troy Kingi, Tenei Kesha (10A), performed by Tipene, Troy Kingi, and Maisey Rika

20 - Your Deodorant Doesn't Work, written by Stephanie Brown, James Fenimore Ikner, performed by Lips

The judging panel were (in alphabetical order)

Anji Sami (She’s So Rad), Finn Andrews (The Veils), Hollie Fullbrook (Tiny Ruins), Marika Hodgson (Sorrento, Troy Kingi, Kora, Teeks), Natalia Sheppard (MC Tali), Phil Bell (DJ Sir-Vere), Sarena Close (Mousey), Sean Donnelly (SJD), Tom Scott (Avantdale Bowling Club), and Tyna Keelan. 

2021 APRA Maioha Award Top 5 shortlist

APRA Maioha Award

APRA Maioha Award Photo: supplied

The APRA Silver Scroll Maioha Award celebrates excellence in contemporary Māori songwriting.

Previous winners include Rob Ruha, Alien Weaponry, Whirimako Black, Ruia Aperahama, and Te Awanui Reeder.

This Top 5 list was chosen from over 30 entries by a judging panel of 4 experts who have each made wonderful contributions to the waiata reo Māori and waiata reo rua community  

 1 - He Aio, written by Hamiora Tuari, Matthew Sadgrove, Sam Eriwata, and Tei Nohotima, performed by Haami

2 - Karawhiua, written by Logan Bell, Matthew Sadgrove, Stephen Maxwell, translated by Paraone Gloyne, performed by Katchafire 

3 - Te Pū, written by Tame-Hoake Tuari, Tatana Tuari, Hamiora Tuari, and Sam Eriwata, performed by Tuari Brothers

4 - Toroa, written by Mara Te Kahika and Cory Champion, performed by Mara TK

5 - Waitī Waitā, written by Maisey Rika and Seth Haapu, performed by Maisey Rika

The judging panel were (in alphabetical order)

Matai Smith, Nadia Marsh, Ngatapa Black, and Pere Wihongi

The APRA Silver Scroll Award and APRA Maioha Award will be presented at Spark Arena on Thursday October 14. The other awards presented on the night are: 
•    SOUNZ Contemporary Award Te Tohu Auaha, celebrating excellence in contemporary composition 
•    APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award 
•    APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award  
•    NZ Music Hall of Fame Induction