5 Sep 2020

Silver Scrolls 2020: finalists announced for classical and screen awards

From RNZ Music, 12:30 pm on 5 September 2020

The finalists for the 2020 SOUNZ Contemporary Award, APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film and Best Original Music in a Series have been announced.

Last year’s SOUNZ Contemporary-winning song, ‘Sama’ by Michael Norris, reimagined by Nathan Haines at the 2019 Silver Scroll ceremony

The award will be presented as part of a livestreamed ceremony on Wednesday, October 28. A 'watch party' is being held at Auckland's Powerstation and RNZ Music will be posting all the behind-the-scenes action!

Follow RNZ Music on RNZ Music Facebook and RNZ Music Instagram to see backstage interviews, show highlights and more!

Finalists: SOUNZ Contemporary Award | Te Tohu Auaha

  • Celeste Oram ‘A Loose Affiliation Of Alleluias’
  • Alex Taylor and Simon Ingram ‘Assemblage’
  • Michael Norris ‘Mātauranga (Rerenga)’

Finalists: APRA Best Original Music In A Series

  • Claire Cowan for One Lane Bridge
  • David Long for The Luminaries (published by Native Tongue Music Publishing)
  • Don McGlashan and Harry Sinclair for Kiri and Lou (published by Native Tongue Music Publishing)
  • Lachlan Anderson for The Dead Lands

Finalists: APRA Best Original Music In A Film

  • Claire Cowan for Runaway Millionaires
  • Karl Steven for Come to Daddy
  • Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper for The Legend Of Baron To'a

The SOUNZ Contemporary Award celebrates excellence in classical composition, with previous winners including Michael Norris, Salina Fisher and Chris Watson.

The APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film and APRA Best Original Music in a Series Awards celebrate New Zealand's screen composers. The awards recognise the relationship composers have with cinema and the power of music to illuminate, elevate and support real and imagined worlds.

Previous winners include David Long, Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper and Tama Waipara.

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes