28 Aug 2020

WATCH: Auckland indie-pop quartet Alae release new single and EP

From RNZ Music, 10:00 am on 28 August 2020

‘Please’ is the fourth single from Alae’s new EP Lucy’s Mixtape, which is out today.

Alae have been releasing music since 2016, including a self-titled EP, their 2018 album Henry St, and a string of successful singles.

Artwork for Alae's Lucy's Mixtape EP

Artwork for Alae's Lucy's Mixtape EP Photo: Supplied

The group started out as multi-instrumental two-piece Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan, and now includes drummer Jayden Lee, and in-demand bassist Marika Hodgson, who works with artists including Troy Kingi and Hollie Smith, and makes her own music under the moniker Sorrento.

The band’s new EP Lucy’s Mixtape features brand new single ‘Please’, alongside recently-released tracks ‘Hit Me Where It Hurts’, ‘Summer Thing’ and ‘Lucy’, and fresh new reworks and collaborations from hip hop artist Kings, neo soul musician Bailey Wiley and vocalist Nate Dousand.

“‘Please’ is about looking at your life, or current situation and putting things into perspective,” vocalist Alex says, “Figuring out what you want and what YOU are willing to do to make that your reality.”

The track’s video was shot in the sumptuous surrounds of Auckland’s iconic theatre, The Civic.

Lucy’s Mixtape showcases Alae’s new relationship with Canadian producer Justin Gray. The band started working with him in 2019 after meeting at APRA’s Songhubs workshop, which brings together top international songwriters with up-and-coming New Zealand artists.

To celebrate the release of Lucy’s Mixtape Alae are playing some very special live shows:

  • Saturday, September 19 - Auckland | Tuning Fork 
  • Saturday, October 10 - Wellington | Meow

Tickets at Live Nation.

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes