29 May 2020

Children’s Music Awards 2020: winners announced

From RNZ Music, 3:30 pm on 29 May 2020

Anika Moa has won Best Children’s Artist, Kath Bee and Doug Stenhouse have won Best Children’s Song for ‘I Love Life’ (feat. Joelle), and The Nukes have won Best Children’s video for ‘Worms’.

The winners for the 2020 Children’s Music Awards are:

APRA Best Children's Song

  • WINNER: Kath Bee - 'I Love Life' (feat. Joelle) written by Kath Bee and Doug Stenhouse
  • Aro - 'Korimako' written by Emily and Charles Looker
  • Ben Sinclair and Jeremy Dillon - 'Tony the Tiny Pony'

Te Kaipuoro Waiata Tamariki Toa / Best Children’s Music Artist

  • WINNER: Anika Moa
  • Captain Festus McBoyle
  • Chris Sanders

NZ On Air Best Children's Music Video

  • WINNER: The Nukes - ‘Worms’, video by Parry Jones and Christian Tjandrawinata
  • Little Ripples - ‘Read To Me’, video by Emily Benge
  • Chris Sanders - ‘Tahi Tahi Tahi Ambulance Song’
  • Ben Sinclair and Jeremy Dillon - ‘Tony the Tiny Pony’, video by Ned Wenlock

The awards were held this afternoon on TV2 + 1 (Home Learning TV) and streamed via Kiwi Kids Music. Hosted by Suzy Cato, Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern made a special appearance congratulating all those nominated for awards and commenting on the strong NZ music industry.

“I know from personal first-hand experience, just how much it is appreciated by young New Zealanders.”

Also presented was the inaugural Baysting Prize for Children’s Champion, named for the late children’s advocate and NZ music champion Arthur Baysting.

The award acknowledges outstanding contribution to the development and wellbeing of New Zealand tamariki, through music, TV, film, live shows, books, education, or advocacy.

The inaugural recipient was Baysting himself.

“Arthur was such an important part of the music community, and a particular advocate and guiding light in the children's music world,” APRA’s Anthony Healy said, “We miss him dearly, and are very happy to announce that the inaugural Baysting Prize has gone to Arthur's family, in his memory and to mark his legacy.”

RELATED: Children’s Music Awards 2020 finalists announced