25 Mar 2020

VIDEO PREMIERE: Ryan Fisherman ‘Peace of Mind’

From RNZ Music, 5:13 pm on 25 March 2020

RNZ Music is proud to present the brand new single and video from Christchurch musician Ryan Fisherman. ‘Peace of Mind’ is the third single from his album Vibe, which is due out later this year.

‘Peace Of Mind’ is a wonderfully jangly indie pop number that sounds like a blend of Kurt Vile and Mac Demarco. Multiple drum kits keep a rolling groove throughout the song, supported by a bouncy bass line. Ryan’s vocals hold it all together.

The track is the third single from Ryan's album Vibe and follows 'The Price' and 'The Old Man In Me', which he released earlier this year.

Christchurch musician Ryan Fisherman

Christchurch musician Ryan Fisherman Photo: Supplied

The music video was directed by Ryan himself, filmed by his partner Eithne Whitteker, and edited on Ryan’s smartphone. The video’s concept is based on a poster Eithne found which shows “50 Ways To Take A Break”.

Ryan started his musical career in 2013 as the drummer for acclaimed indie electronic act Doprah.

He went on to play drums, guitar, bass and vocals with many local artists such as Ben Woods, Emily Fairlight, Adam Hattaway, and more.

Ryan also works as a session musician & engineer with famed Lyttleton producer Ben Edwards, who produced Ryan's new single ‘Peace of Mind’. Ben has worked with a raft of talented musicians at his Sitting Room Studios, including Marlon Williams, Aldous Harding, and Australian indie-folk musician Julia Jacklin. 

It was at The Sitting Room Ryan that recorded his forthcoming album Vibe, from which 'Peace of Mind' is taken. It's set for release in mid 2020.

Ryan wrote Vibe over the space of two years while performing and touring. Every track features local musicians, past band mates and friends including Indi, Motte, Marlon Williams, Candice Milner, Adam Hattaway plus members of The Eastern.

Ryan’s core band are made up of some of his favourite musicians and good friends; Joseph McCallum (Tami Neilson, Nadia Reid) on drums, Anita Clark (Motte, Nadia Reid) on violin, Simon Gregory (Devilish Mary, Hannah Harding) on guitar, Symon Palmer (Doprah, Zero Cool) on bass, and Rata Holtslag on backing vocals.

Recently Ryan has tried his hand at producing, working with local artist Mousey on her well-received debut Lemon Law.

Follow Ryan Fisherman: Facebook | Instagram | Spotify

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes