2 Oct 2019

All the performances from the 2019 Silver Scroll songwriting awards

From RNZ Music, 10:20 pm on 2 October 2019

The 2019 Silver Scroll songwriting awards took place on Wednesday night at Auckland's Spark Arena, and as is tradition, all the finalist and winner songs were reinterpreted and performed by a surprise line-up of musicians. This year's performances were curated by Kiwi jazz legend Nathan Haines.

Check out all the winners here.

Aldous Harding's Silver Scroll-winning song 'The Barrel', performed by Louis Baker and band

Hātea Kapa Haka open the 2019 Silver Scrolls

'Blue Smoke', performed by Lisa Tomlins, Kirsten Te Rito and band

The creators of NZ's first homegrown pop song 'Blue Smoke', Ruru Karaitiana, Pixie Williams, and Jim Carter were inducted into the NZ Music Hall of Fame.

Bella Kalolo and band perform 'Happy Unhappy' by the Beths

Stella Bennett's (BENEE) 'Soaked' performed by Mini Simmons

Takadimi Ensemble and friends perform 'Olympic Girls' by Tiny Ruins

Avantdale Bowling Club's 'Years Gone By' performed by Bruce Hopkins and band

Composed by Tom Scott, Hayden Dick, Julien Dyne, Guy Harrison, and Tom Dennison.

Tyna Keelan, Angelique Te Rauna and Matauranga Te Ra's Maioha-winning song 'Ka Ao', performed by Sherydon Ngaropo and band

'Dance All Around The World' by BLERTA performed by Corban Simpson and band with Auckland Youth Choir 

Composer Michael Norris' SOUNZ Contemporary-winning violin concerto 'Sama', performed by Nathan Haines and band

Get the RNZ app

for easy access to all your favourite programmes