17 Apr 2018

LIVE: The Taite Music Prize 2018

From RNZ Music, 2:00 pm on 17 April 2018

RNZ Music and Independent Music New Zealand bring you the 2018 Taite Music Prize live. Hosted by Music 101's Alex Behan.

Aldous Harding and Nadia Reid are among this year's finalists for the prestigious Taite Music Prize, which recognises outstanding creativity in an album. Previous winners include Lorde, Ladi6 and SJD.

The ceremony is taking place at Auckland's Civic Wintergardens, with music from Yoko Zuna.

This year's finalists include:

  • Aldous Harding
  • Nadia Reid
  • Fazerdaze
  • Grayson Gilmour
  • Kane Strang
  • Mermaidens
  • The Bads

Find out more about the finalists.

Also on the night, the Headless Chickens will be accepting the Classic Album award for their groundbreaking 1988 record Stunt Clown, and the award for Best Independent Debut will be presented, with finalists including:

  • Kendall Elise - I Didn’t Stand A Chance
  • L.A.B. - L.A.B.
  • Strangely Arousing - Strangely Arousing
  • Daniel McClelland - Anxious Heart
  • The Miltones - The Miltones

The Taite Music Prize is named after iconic New Zealand music journalist, the late Dylan Taite.

RELATED: Dylan Taite - the rebel who changed New Zealand television​

Thanks to the good folk at Auckland Live for their help in making this livestream happen.