28 Sep 2017

POLL: Which song will win the 2017 Silver Scroll?

From RNZ Music, 8:00 am on 28 September 2017

Pick your winner below.

You can find out who's won tonight live at rnz.co.nz/music from 8pm, when we'll be streaming live from the Dunedin Town Hall.

There'll be surprise performances from top New Zealand musicians, seminal Dunedin band The Clean are being inducted into the Hall of Fame, and you'll get to find out who's won at the same time they do.


You can also watch the ceremony in one of the following places:

Face TV - Sky channel 83
Freeview channel 50

The Silver Scroll Awards are widely considered the most prestigious accolade in New Zealand Music. The main award recognises outstanding achievement in the craft of songwriting and is decided by other songwriters and composers - the more than 10,000 New Zealand members of the songwriting industry body APRA.

Dunedin is hosting the awards for the first time this year.

On the night, the five finalist songs will be covered by different musicians, the idea being that each song is shown in a new light, which highlights the songwriting skill that's gone into them, as opposed to the production of the recorded versions of the songs.

Dave Dobbyn, Bic Runga, Don McGlashan, Ray Columbus, Neil Finn, Shona Laing

Previous winners: Dave Dobbyn, Bic Runga, Don McGlashan, Ray Columbus, Neil Finn, Shona Laing Photo: Supplied / RNZ: Claire Eastham-Farrelly

For this year's ceremony, the music director is Shayne Carter (Straitjacket Fits, the Double Happys, Dimmer). A prodigal son of Dunedin, Carter will curate the cover performances during the ceremony.

“It'll be fun playing musical match-ups and trying to find an interesting, and hopefully not so obvious array of artists to perform the songs and maybe find angles in them that the writers may never have thought of,” says Carter.

Past recipients of the Silver Scroll include veterans such as Dave Dobbyn, Don McGlashan, Shona Laing, Neil Finn, Bic Runga, and Ray Columbus, as well as members of NZ's younger generation of musicians, including James Milne & Luke Buda, Lorde, and The Naked and Famous.

The following awards will also be presented at tonight's ceremony:

  • SOUNZ Contemporary Award – NZ’s premier composition award
  • APRA Maoiha Award – excellence in popular Māori composition
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film
  • APRA Best Original Music in a Series