13 Jun 2022

Who's constesting the Tauranga byelection?

From Morning Report, 8:27 am on 13 June 2022

Twelve candidates are contesting this coming Saturday's Tauranga by-election which was forced by the resignation of former National Party MP Simon Bridges.

Labour, National and Act are standing candidates, but there are nine other hopefuls, including four independents, who have put their hats in the ring.

So what makes them tick, what Tauranga issues get them hot under the collar and why do they think they are the ones to best resolve them?

Bay of Plenty reporter Leah Tebbutt finds out.