18 Oct 2020

Labour MP Rachel Boyack beats out Nelson stalwart Nick Smith

From Morning Report, 9:32 am on 18 October 2020

Nelson will have its first new MP in a quarter of a century, after Labour's Rachel Boyack beat National stalwart Nick Smith by 3-and-a-half-thousand votes Mr Smith has been the Nelson MP since 1996, and was the MP for Tasman for six years before that. He told TVNZ the result was tough to swallow after representing the region for 30 years.