13 May 2020

Coronavirus: Airways proposes removing services from 7 airports

From Morning Report, 7:45 am on 13 May 2020

The country's Air Traffic Service provider - Airways New Zealand - is proposing to remove services from seven regional airports around the country.

Rotorua, Napier, New Plymouth, Gisborne, Invercargill, Kapiti Coast and Milford Sound airports may all lose their air traffic services.

The Air Line Pilots' Association says it has serious concerns about the safety of the move and is accusing Airways New Zealand of putting cost savings ahead of the safety of the public.

Corin Dann speaks to the association's president Captain Andrew Ridling about the risks this move would pose.