29 Jul 2021

Tertiary Education Union come out against academics letter

From Midday Report, 12:48 pm on 29 July 2021

The Univeristy of Auckland, Royal Society and now the Tertiary Education Union have come out against a contentious letter to the editor by seven Univeristy of Auckland professors denying Mātauranga Māori as science.

The statement appeared in the Listener written by Kendall Clements, Garth Cooper, Michael Corballis, Douglas Elliffe, Elizabeth Rata, Robert Nola and John Werry - three of whom are Royal Society Fellows.

In a letter addressed to the professors, the union described the statement as damaging, and said members found it offensive, ill-advised and racist.

Māni Dunlop spoke to TEU branch committee member and senior lecturer at the University of Auckland, Dr Sean Sturm.