17 Apr 2020

New Takanini electorate established

From Midday Report, 12:18 pm on 17 April 2020

A new electorate will be contested in this year's election, with confirmation of a new South Auckland seat called Takanini.

That brings the total number of electorates to 72, made up by 65 general and seven Māori seats.

And the boundaries of about half of all electorates have undergone changes.

The Chair of the Representation Commission, Judge Craig Thompson, speaks to Māni Dunlop.