31 Oct 2022

Three mayors propose three waters alternative scheme

From Checkpoint, 5:39 pm on 31 October 2022

Three mayors have proposed their own changes to the contentious Three Waters scheme.

The mayors of Auckland, Christchurch and Waimakariri say their plan would end the divisive, nationwide argument on the policy.

The new proposal would maintain the new water regulator, but keep local ownership, control and accountability.

Auckland's mayor, Wayne Brown, says he's told Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Local Government Minister Nanaia Mahuta about the plan.