23 Apr 2021

Flights from high-risk Covid-19 countries barred from NZ, citizens still allowed

From Checkpoint, 6:07 pm on 23 April 2021

New Zealand residents in four Covid-19-ravaged countries will be barred from coming home under a new regime at the border. Only citizens from those countries will be able to return.

The rules are a relaxation of the complete travel ban on those arriving from India - but are a much stricter imposition on Pakistan, Brazil and Papua New Guinea.

Here's our deputy political editor Craig McCulloch.