25 Nov 2020

Members of Parliament sworn in, Mallard re-elected House Speaker

From Checkpoint, 5:53 pm on 25 November 2020

Labour MP Trevor Mallard has been confirmed as the Speaker of the House, as MPs were officially sworn in today.

The 53rd Parliament was formally opened by the Royal Commissioners this morning.

Mr Mallard was nominated unchallenged - but MPs across the House had words of advice - and some requests for him.

Here's political reporter Yvette McCullough with all the pomp and ceremony.