10 Feb 2024

12 MPs have ditched PNG Govt amid talks of no confidence vote

From , 6:02 am on 10 February 2024
PNG Prime Minister James Marape and government members

Photo: PNG Loop

There are now 23 MPs on the opposition benches in Papua New Guinea ahead of an expected vote of no confidence in Prime Minister James Marape.

Governments in PNG have 18 months grace after an election when opponents cannot bring motions for votes of no confidence, and that period, in place since August 2022, expires this weekend.

A total of 12 MPs in the government of James Marape have now switched sides, with two moving on Thursday this week, as RNZ's correspondent in PNG, Scott Waide, explains to RNZ Pacific's Don Wiseman.