15 Apr 2021

NZ rugby grants conditional licences for two Pacific Is teams

From , 6:02 am on 15 April 2021

New Zealand Rugby has granted conditional licences for two Pacific Island teams to join next year's Super Rugby competition.

The new format, which also involves the five New Zealand and five Australian teams, is conditional on Moana Pasifika and Fijian Drua's (ndrua) final business plans and support from Rugby Australia.

RNZ Pacific sports reporter Vinnie Wylie joins me now, so a hugely significant announcement for the Pacific rugby community vinnie?

Moana Pasifika during the cultural challenge before the match between Moana Pasifika and the Maori All Blacks 2020.