5 Apr 2019

Several MPs returned to parliament in Solomon Islands

From , 4:03 pm on 5 April 2019

Several MPs have retained their seats as counting continues in the Solomon Islands election.

Those elected in seven out of 11 seats declared after overnight counting were in the last parliament.

Our reporter Koroi Hawkins has been at a counting centre in Honiara and he says going against the trend was the previous foreign minister Milner Tozaka who lost the North Vella La Vella seat to a former clerk of parliament.

Solomon Islands election result board

Photo: RNZ Pacific/ Koroi Hawkins